A shout out to fellow income-deficient Melbournian writers  

There's gold in them thar cushions!  © LizMcShane

There’s gold in them thar cushions!
© LizMcShane

As I mentioned in Fear and Loathing – living and writing with depression and anxiety, I’ve made it my mission to reinvigorate my creativity by getting more involved in the Melbourne arts scene. Naturally, I was super excited when I realised the Emerging Writers’ Festival was just around the corner, then I got all sad because my finances had gotten to a stage where I was bordering on orgasmic whenever I found a $2 coin behind the couch.

And then I did something crazy.

I logged onto the EWF website.

And I actually LOOKED at the events.

Do you realise there are eleventy million free events at the festival (Well, maybe not eleventy million, but there are a lot.)?! Some of the freebies include  ‘Opening Night Extravaganza’, ‘Translation Nation’, ‘No Lights, No Literature’, ‘The Art of the Short Story’ and ‘Lunch/Soapbox: Sam George-Allen’. So, if you’re a couch miner like me, don’t be disheartened – sign up to a few events (you will have the opportunity to make a donation when you book) and prepare to be inspired by all the amazing artists. Look out for me – I’ll be the socially defunct blogger hiding in the corner.

Reproduced with permission from Emerging Writer's Festival

Reproduced with permission from Emerging Writer’s Festival

In anticipation of EWF14, I’ll be chatting with Emily Stewart this week about her experience as a creator and presenter at the 2013 festival.

Leave a Reply

